HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Cindy's Reviews

KC RANCH HORSE CAMP, near DOUBLE SPRINGS, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were great ,land and wildlife were spectacular. We will be going again and again.Richard and Pam were great host!
Reviewed by Cindy on 1/4/2009 10:28:28 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/21/2008 Hometown: , TN
Town Creek , near Guntersville, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails! Rode there 7 or 8 times in the summer of 2006, mostly 5 to 6 hrs each time. Lots of hills & plenty of climbs, a breast collar is a must, some rocky terrian, I'd recommend shoes on horses, altho I saw some bare foot horses & they did fine. It's good work out for both horse & rider, with nice places to stop for breaks, some at the water. It's a pretty place to just get out ride, whatever your pace, slow or fast, this place has it.
Reviewed by Cindy on 1/9/2007 4:53:33 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/5/2006 Hometown: Mentone, AL
Caney Mountain Horse Camp, near Big Flat, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the place to go if you want adventurous riding, sights of the gorgeous bluffs on the Buffalo River, and the best hospitality EVER!!! The owners are Charles and Teresa Taylor. They have made an awesome horse camp, lodge, bath facilities, and rooms to rent. Teresa is THE BEST cook so take advantage of the meals!!!! You will have to make multiple camping trips to experience the many trails. I'm going back in the fall. :-)
Reviewed by Cindy on 6/6/2011 2:13:33 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/3/2011 Hometown: Batesville, AR
Shelton's Big Flat Getaway, near Big Flat, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What an awesome campground and beautiful Arkansas Mountain country!! Campground owner, Shawn, is top notch and very helpful! Rode approx. 170 miles in 10 days and still have more trails to ride....can't wait to go back & hit the trails with our new friend Shelley.
Reviewed by Cindy on 2/1/2013 8:24:15 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/17/2013 Hometown: , MO
Caspers, near San Juan Capistrano, ca

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

loved the variety of trails and views. unshod horses did fine. I wouldn't recommend aug or sept unless you like it very hot. nice showers though not right in camp, they are a short hill walk away. overfull pit toilets in camp. Bring long hoses as water is not available at every site for the horses. Saw lots of wildlife, beautiful location. Park staff: fellow at gate somewhat unfriendly, though staff on phone was very friendly and helpful. I would and will go again! We tent camped, plenty of room for tents.
Reviewed by cindy on 1/5/2012 11:39:06 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2012 Hometown: san diego , CA
Hard Labor Creek State Park, near Athens, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I had a great ride there. The trails were not rocky and very well maintained. The girl at the check in station was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.
Reviewed by Cindy on 5/19/2010 10:29:52 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2010 Hometown: Fayetteville, GA
DbarK Horse Camp, near Mammoth Cave, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I just spent a week with the D BAR K crew. We had a very good time. Trails are great!! Camping was great and we will be back. Restrooms are awesome.Private, clean and with a shower with tons of hot water.Debbie and Ernest are very gracious hosts.
Reviewed by Cindy on 4/23/2008 6:56:29 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2008 Hometown: Mansfield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've stayed at D Bar K several times this year and not once did I experience anything like what some of the others here have described. The owners of this camp are by far the most accomidating horsecamp folks I've met in a long while. They willingly do whatever it takes to make you feel at home. The breakfast that is served is wonderful. I'd have to say that who ever dealt with "Carol and Mike"???? (whoever that is) and had flies in thier food certainly was not at D Bar K. This camp is close to the trails, they have bunk rooms for those who don't have trailers to stay in, the bathrooms are heated and clean, they have a nice selection of tack for sale, and there is coffee ready every morning when you get up. If you expect more than that then you should probably stay at home.
Reviewed by Cindy on 11/20/2007 12:59:50 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/17/2007 Hometown: Coxs Creek, KY
Bluestone Ridge Campground, near Decatur, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

very new camp and trails...... very quiet excellent for quality family trail riding and camping. the owners patrol the camp which is very nice well groomed... the trails are nice and clearly marked. we will be back many times.... we had a great time it was 3 ladies and we felt safe... so load up and check it out!!!
Reviewed by cindy on 6/23/2005 11:10:06 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/12/2005 Hometown: marshall, MI
Sand Dunes State Forest, near Orrock, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I ride the Sand Dunes daily as I board near the park. I too am very frustrated with the number of times my ride has been ruined by people illegally shooting guns or by kids playing paint ball. I have called the sheriff on numerous occasions. The trails are wide and sandy for the most part. Due to the rain this year I have not encountered any sand burrs. My black lab comes with on every ride! Overall a great, quiet place to ride!
Reviewed by Cindy on 7/21/2010 6:17:23 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/21/2010 Hometown: Otsego, MN
Flying-R-Ranch, near West Plains, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just a super place! can't wait to go back. Owners very friendly and helpful, facilities are great, and trails were awesome.
Reviewed by Cindy on 10/29/2012 3:47:30 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2012 Hometown: , MO
Huckleberry Stables and Cabin Rentals, near Pineville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 4 wonderful relaxing days with the greatest hosts Rick and Mary. As always they made me feel at home with facilities that are clean and well maintained for riders and their horses. Trails are some of the best in Missouri and I enjoy them during every season of the year.
Reviewed by Cindy on 6/12/2012 12:30:30 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/7/2012 Hometown: Butler, MO
MURPHY LAKES, near COLUMBIA/HIGBEE, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We finally found the place after searching for 2 hours. Was told it didnt have any marked trails & there was not a way to bring our trailer up to the camp & was told it was not set up for weekend rides or renting a cabin for the weekend. Roads in were to rough to bring a trailer in. didnt ride as we were told It was not really setup for rides at that time. Mostly men wanting to hunt & fish.
Reviewed by Cindy on 12/27/2010 7:37:08 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/10/2009 Hometown: , MO
4B Farm- Uwharrie National Forest, near Uwharrie, Troy, Eldorado Community, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always, my time at 4B was wonderful. Larry is a fantastic host and the campground and barns are always immaculate. It just doesn't get much better than 4B Farms.
Reviewed by Cindy on 11/5/2010 7:02:29 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2010 Hometown: North, SC
Dupont State Forest - Spur of the Moment Furnished Cottage , near Brevard, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time the weather was nice the first two days and the second 2 days it rained and we went into Asheville to the new movie theaters off of I-40. The cabin was nice and roomy. The horses are in paddocks right outside the den window. We liked being able to ride right into Dupont from the property. The trails are very well groomed and and marked. They have street signs at every intersection. If you get tired of riding the 113,000 acres at Dupont. You can ride at Pisgah which is minutes away which has 125,000 acres.Biltmore Forest is 40 minutes with 130,000 acres. Biltore is a little pricey but well worth the ride.
Reviewed by cindy on 12/21/2010 5:19:43 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2010 Hometown: Fort Mill, SC
Tri-County Horse Center, near Canton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This message is to Ann (Rachel) or anyone that took her remarks to heart: These trails and campgrounds are completely maintained by volunteers. You cannot expect the same kind of ride on these trails as if you ride the Metro parks. They are trails - NOT manicured bridal paths. If you have ridden the trails at many of the state parks that are not bridal paths you have ridden more difficult trails. We do not treat our horses like 4-wheelers - we take good care of our horses. If you come for the first time and have never ridden these types of trails, we always urge you to contact a member (we have a website) and see if you cannot get an escort for your first few rides. If you rode these trails and were constantly running into 4-wheelers, chances are that you accidently left our trails. I would say that since most of these posters had positive comments, that the ones that did not were simply in over their heads on real trails. As I stated - they are NOT metro park manicured paths - they are trails with hills, creeks, bridges, and an occasional road crossing. If you found yourself riding along a road where there was 55 mph traffic, you were again - most likely off the trails.
Reviewed by Cindy on 8/16/2010 11:34:00 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: Canton, OH
Horse Heaven Ranch, near Talihina, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground, clean bathhouse, level sites, biggest complaint...bagging manure UGH! but nice having horses at site. Most of the trails we rode were also used by 4 wheelers and they totally mmessed it up for horses.....too bad as it is beautiful country.
Reviewed by cindy on 3/19/2013 6:31:38 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/18/2013 Hometown: , MO
Robber's Cave Equestrian Camp, near Wilburton, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground, clean bathhouse, level sites...one BIG complaint having to bag manure in trash bags. Trails are nice and in beautiful country! two thumbs up to the worker bees who maintain them.
Reviewed by cindy on 3/19/2013 6:39:16 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/22/2013 Hometown: , MO
Hickory Creek Wilderness Ranch, near Tidioute, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I thought the facilities were filthy and having ONE shower stall for men & ONE for women and ONE TOILET TOTAL unacceptable! The "hidden fee" for trail maintenance was not appreciated either, especially since we had to go off the trail to go around downed trees. Having horses in stalls was nice but we had to drive to get to them because they were so far away from where we camped. I would NOT recommend this place. It was a huge disappointment.
Reviewed by Cindy on 8/3/2008 7:01:02 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2007 Hometown: New Castle, PA
Double J Ranch LLC, near Whitmire, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

GREAT TRAILS just a beautiful place to ride and we Loved the bathhouse as well. The hosts are great and you can tell they put a lot of their heart into the place. The RIVER ride is something every rider MUST experience. Had a great time and will be back many times in the Future.
Reviewed by Cindy on 10/24/2008 8:18:16 AM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Charleston, SC
Circle E Guest Ranch, LLC, near Winchester, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very muddy. Some spots, horse sunk to knees. Go to this place only during a drought
Reviewed by cindy on 4/12/2011 9:18:17 AM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/10/2011 Hometown: tullahoma, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

CIRCLE E IS TOP NOTCH!!!! KIM,RAY AND THE REST OF THE CREW ARE JUST WONDERFUL. THEY MAKE EVERY EFFORT TO MAKE YOUR STAY SPECTACULAR. WE HAVE BEEN TO LOTS OF PLACES TO RIDE AND CIRCLE E HAS BEEN "THE BEST OF THE BEST". THE CAMPGOUND, BARN AND DINNING HALL ARE ALL TOP NOTCH AND THE BISCUITS ARE THE BEST. WE VISTED 4 TIMES LAST YEAR AND HOPE TO DO MORE RIDING THERE THIS YEAR. JUST KNOW A TRIP TO CIRCLE E IS A HORSE RIDERS DREAM. (ALSO DONT FORGET TO GET CARLOS TO CLEAN YOUR STALL), NOTHING BETTER THAN A CLEAN STALL TO COME BACK TO AFTER A DAY OF RIDING. JUST KNOW CIRCLE E IS A HORSE RIDERS PARADISE!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by CINDY on 3/7/2008 4:40:21 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2007 Hometown: DAWSONVILLE, GA
True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF, near Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It just doesn't get any better than this! Mark and Sue are the best possible hosts, and the trails are magnificent. I look forward to camping with them each spring and fall and would be there more often if I didn't live so far away --- and didn't have to work for a living.
Reviewed by Cindy on 10/19/2009 6:30:30 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2009 Hometown: North, SC
Battle Park, near Ten Sleep , Wy

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've camped and ridden the trails at Battle Park quite a few times. We really love the trails and the scenery is awesome! We're NOT looking forward to the "improvements" they're planning to do this summer, as it's going to make camping there much more difficult. First come/first serve. You take the long bumpy road with a big horse trailer to get down there to find out it's full??
Reviewed by Cindy on 6/1/2007 4:36:31 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2006 Hometown: Amherst Junction, WI