HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Jane's Reviews

Buffalo National River- Buffalo River Ranch, near Jasper, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Buffalo River Ranch is great! If you have a big rig and don't dare go down to Steele Creek...you can have hook-ups and an indoor arena to work your horse in when its stormy out. Jim is THE BEST camp host! He will gladly take you on the trail nearby, or down to Parthenon for lunch. We enjoy it and plan to back again and again.
Reviewed by jane on 5/5/2009 10:08:53 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/8/2009 Hometown: , MO
Las Caballeras All Women Ride on Catalina Island, near Catalina Island, CA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What an incredible experience! To go to an Island, with your own horse, camp out with fun Ladies, eat delicious cusine, Laugh, Swim, have your horse looked after and fed, have a massage . . . I could go on and on. To me, this was the ultimate equine experience! And oh yeah, we even had hot showers!
Reviewed by Jane on 8/4/2008 2:29:33 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2005 Hometown: Palmdale, CA
Midwest Trail Ride, near Norman , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This use to be a nice place to go. We rented a bunkhouse that leaked and smelled moldy. Our light was also burnt out. When we informed them they did not seem to care. We did return the next year and I had a family emergency. My husband called 3 times and I never got the message (I stayed in a cabin this time and a friend tried to stay in the bunkhouses but could not stand the smell). There is a place for you to retreve messages and I never got it (my father went into the hospital and did pass away!). I was even going to give them one more chance but after talking to them about this and the attitude decided there are other places to go.
Reviewed by Jane on 1/20/2008 3:12:50 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2006 Hometown: Yoder, IN
Potato Creek State Park, near North Liberty, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place to go if you don't want a challenge. Took a few beginners here and had a great time. LOVE the shower house! Nice trails as well, not usually muddy. Got caught in a squall and DNR even stopped and checked to make sure we were ok. Very nice folks
Reviewed by Jane on 1/20/2008 3:16:24 PM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Yoder, IN
Rustic Sky Horse Camp, near Melder, La

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoy Lucky 4B Campground, and have lots of trouble believing the previous review. I personally know the owners, and can't imaging anyone not being there and people having to wait 3 hours to check in. In fact, check in isn't until 3pm, so that would have made it after 6pm when they could have checked in. If someone has a problem like this with a camp, please at least be respectful enough to leave your name and you should have talked to the owners or Cathie and they would have made it right.
Reviewed by Jane on 8/23/2008 3:18:20 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/6/2008 Hometown: , LA
Ionia State Recreation Area, near Ionia , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to go. Very nice trails that are gently rolling. Would be nice if they had more water locations, but can't have everything. Showers are within walking dist. Nice DNR staff. Love the creek crossing!
Reviewed by Jane on 6/1/2005 11:15:50 PM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/1/2005 Hometown: Yoder, IN
Holmes County Trail , near Millersburg, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice,straight, wide, totally flat, solid trail. This is not an exciting ride, it's just for moseying along but it was a good exercise in sensory overload. Amish Buggies!! Bicycles, walkers, dogs,traffic noise from nearby roads,gun shots, some farm equipment, and some loose trash along the way. It was very pretty in a lot of the areas but some of the trail was uninteresting. The buggy drivers were very courteous to me and my "not quite seasoned" horse. We parked in Danville and rode to the "Bridge of Dreams" which is about 4.8 miles from our start point. The bridge and view are awesome!! It is a covered bridge that is over 300 feet long spanning a gorgeous river. After the bridge there is a picnic area which is a great place for a break, an outhouse is there too. You will have to cross a couple of county roads, but it's not that big of a deal. There isn't a "loop" to follow; it's just ride straight out and come straight back.
Reviewed by Jane on 11/29/2009 7:18:16 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/29/2009 Hometown: , OH
Castle Rock Horse Trails/ Ukarydee Eq. Campground, near Adams, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are beautiful, the campgroud is large and accessable. There are round pens at each site, or you can put up tape in the paddocks. We love it here! We have only been in spring and fall, but there is lots of water to cross, hills, sand, just about anything that you could want. Lots of sites available, so you can plan a large group function here.
Reviewed by Jane on 1/19/2008 9:36:17 AM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Fond du Lac, WI
Endless Valley Stables, near Spring Green, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is just the area around the barn and paddocks. If you want electric, you have to be close to the barn. There is a nice bathroom in barn, although it could use a good scrubbing. The barn also has a wash stall for horses (cleaner than bathroom;-)! The trails are beautiful, and the main reason to go back. Very hard on horses in hot weather, as there are alot of up and downs. We went in June, and it was beautiful- 75-85 degrees. We went again in October, and it was oppressive- 95+ degrees!!! The horses went out in the morning, and then did NOT want to go out for a late afternoon ride!!! Much better riding in cooler temps, as the hills are hard if your horses are not used to them. All in all, I would go back, just not if the weather is going to be over 90 degrees. The electric hookup can't handle an air conditioner.
Reviewed by Jane on 1/19/2008 9:30:26 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2007 Hometown: Fond du Lac, WI