HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Linda & Morris Dolph's Reviews

Boston Mountain Horse Camp, near Witts Springs, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

2nd time returning to Boston Mountain and there were even more trails. Went to Lunch Stop and while we were taking a break could hear elk close by. And on private ground rode along a long rock wall to Barn Hollow Falls. There is a trail that you can see 3 counties when you are on a hill in a open area. Trails are easy to more rugged and they have a better map. They have added more pens in the barn and have forks and wheel barrows. If you want a break or some don't ride there are several places of interest to drive to. Jasper has Blue Bakery & cafe, Twin Falls by Camp Orr, Low Gap Cafe, National Park Headquarters has great information, Steel Creek Camp has Roark Bluff Falls and V Notch Falls, Ponca population 9 has a large Elk population and Boxley Valley Park. Saw Cliff House Restaurant and there is a Mexican restaurant in Marshall and farm store. Campground sites are mostly level with electric and water at each site. They are working on a bathroom / shower house that will be handy. 590 miles for me and worth the trip!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 11/7/2019 4:36:39 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2019 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Boston Mountain is a new camp with excellent trails. We marked trailheads while I was there to help find them after some logging was done. They did have a map. I was there 8 nights and never ran out of trails to ride. If Andrew is available he will ride with you otherwise explain the map and tell you good places to ride. It is beautiful riding and so much to see with a lot of history! I rode to Hendricks cabin, Wasson school, few cabins by different creeks, "scoot" trail to Bear Cat Hollor which has a waterfall in background, Sulfer Falls, Richland Creek is beautiful, Windy Point with a view on all 3 sides, , Needles Eye rock formation, Cub Falls for lunch, Triple Springs andWhiskey Still Falls. There are easy to harder trails and plenty to ride. Unload your horse by the large shed that has very nice pens in it, can clean out your trailer there as there is a manure pit on back side of barn and they have forks and wheel barrows. If you take a saddle rack it works out perfect to unload your tack & feed right there but if you prefer you may tack up at your trailer. There is a long water hose in barn to make it handy to fill your pails.They sell shavings reasonable there if you need some. Campsites have a few that you can drive thru but mainly back in. Each site has electric and water and mainly level sites. They are building a bathroom shower house in middle of camp which will be handy. They have done a nice job with the new campground and I'm sure will keep improving. You will probably meet family members as while I was there a brother cut a tree off trail and parents came down to check everything.A very great Christian Family that will do an excellent job! I will go back and it was 590 miles for me. A little hilly and curvy but good roads. Marshall is a close town and lots of interesting places to drive to.
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 11/6/2019 9:35:03 PM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/9/2018 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Caney Mountain Horse Camp, near Big Flat, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campsite was level and roomy. Pens right behind site with water handy. You piled manure and they picked it up every day. Nice shower house and a wonderful gathering area on porch to sit and visit or play a little guitar on south side of office & kitchen which had great food! Riding the Buffalo River is beautiful! Rode to Hepsey School,Big Creek Bluff, Hepsey Cemetery, springs, old foundations, Gnome Trails, small cave close to camp, Funnel Rock, I Do Trail, watched some canoes go over some rapids as we ate lunch, Short Cut Trail, Hocott Homestead, large cave, the squeeze, Baileys Falls, Goat Town, Over Looks, saw Murphy's oil house, Spring Creek,saw all the permanent sites and rode the "Ooops" Trail with Wendy & Qwen. Rode a couple of days with Thomas & John and everyone was great about telling you what trail you were on. They did have a map. First couple of days we enjoyed riding with a couple that were also from Iowa but moved to Arkansa and we were always on the "I think I Know Trail"! Was all great fun! Morris did not like the road leading to camp but he said after 1 day he was really having fun! Take your generator and full gas cans. Cowboy Church on Sundays and food is so good we ate there 3 times. Nice little shop for shirts & caps. Rough riding but lots to see. Charles & Teresa are very helpful & want you to have a good time. 605 miles for us and well worth the trip.
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/24/2018 8:50:12 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Centerpoint Horsecamp and Bunkhouse, near Ponca, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful Trails! The Old River Trail goes along Buffalo river with bluffs along the river banks that are breathtaking! Can ride to Steel Creek campground and have lunch. Granny Hendersons house is a great place with great history! When you go on goat trail to Big Bluff make sure you walk the short distance to the hole and go thru and look at the view from there! Hemmed in Hollow, Horseshoe Bend and Bench Trail are there and Sneed Creek Trail was one of our favorites and rode that area twice. You'll see old cars, a large plateau of flat rocks, rapids in the creek . Lots of old cabins and chimneys to see. Right out of camp the trail was pretty. Uncle trailered us out one day. Drive to Ponca, population 9, see the elk herd at Boxley Valley, eat at Low Gap Cafe and you'll see hand made pottery plates. Lost Valley is a easy hike and you'll see a lot. We saw several water falls, Roark Bluff Falls, V Notch Falls and Twin Falls that you could see from your vehicle or a very short walk to.The campsites were level, electric at each and water between sites. Pens were close but not covered. A one room shower house for everyone. Good road going to camp. Brent checked on us every night. And Henny Penny the Chicken visited us every day and always had her friend Mr Duck. Usually when we were eating lunch! It was a great place and will go back. A little less than 600 miles for us. Pat Fark, Ft Wayne, In and Mary Lou, Ia joined me. Great Place!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 6/2/2017 12:12:47 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Cowboy Up Trails, near Witt Springs, Ar

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

New barn with pipe gates are now at Cowboy Up! Great size 11 X 14 You may still picket behind your trailer. This time we rode to Pedestal Rock which is a nice ride. I still like the Indian Cave and Lookout! John came around every day to check on us and even took me out to show me where to cross water as this spring it was flooding all over but not even that muddy on the trails. The trails are well marked with color coded map! Pat Fark, Ft Wayne, In, Mary Lou, Iowa and Alice, Illinois joined me. Is a great camp, barn and riding! Thanks John Stallings!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 6/2/2017 12:23:46 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/25/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Water & Electric at each site. Pens and nice picket lines behind the trailers in the shade. Bathrooms & shower house and a dump station. Color Maps are so easy to follow with color marked trails that are marked every 30' or so!!! Free Maps! The white trail has a short steep part but has the Best view at the Scenic View and Cave at the top! Cave is so unique with a window that looks out into the Great View! Saw a lot of Man Made Rock Walls, Old Chimney, Cabins, Brock Cemetery, Wild Hog Wollows and could ride to Pedestal Rock which we drove to and hiked around. Beautiful Views! 640 miles and would go back! John checked on us every day! Great Host! Reasonable Rates and good roads to this campground.
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 11/14/2015 11:31:29 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/11/2015 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Falling Water Horse Camp, near Ben Hur, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mary was nice to work with on the phone as it was my first time there and our first day there she rode with us to Box Canyon which is breath taking! Also we found a metal box at lunch which had a note pad to write in and you could add to the goodies in it. It was very entertaining! We rode on our own to Still,Whiskey Hollow, A frame House, Barn Hollow and by Glen's cabin. Sue Wimp led us on a trail to Bailey Falls, Bluff Trail, and to Purdy Holler. Bought a large map and that made the trails easy to find. Camp site had electric, water & was level. Shower house was clean and had 2 stalls. Covered barns were nice with water in walk way and manure pit at end of barn and they had a wheel barrow, rakes & shovels. The Falls were really running as it was flooding in Arkansas and the trails were not even muddy. Mary Lou, Iowa, Alice, Illinois joined me. Great Trip!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 6/2/2017 12:46:11 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/29/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
PINE GROVE TRAILS, near LESLIE, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Interesting little rustic town. Freddy is very nice and helpful. Excellent map and trails are marked well. Lots of sites which were pretty level, electric and lots of room. Pens and barns for horses with handy water. Rode to Kissing Tree, scenic ridge, lookouts, Reagan's cabin, old homestead, moonshine canyon, falls to rock bluff which was my favorite. Lots of really pretty trails. Might not have a lot of trails but all the trails there are great and glad we rode there. Close to other horse camps that are harder to get reservations so this would be a good spot for a couple of days.
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/24/2018 9:00:37 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Shelton's Big Flat Getaway, near Big Flat, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lots of beautiful rugged trails! Saw Bubbling Springs, Magic Pine, Bluffs & narrow ledges, Hole in Chimney, Feed Plots, Cave & beautiful HorseShoe Falls! Rode on a very long ridge with bluff on your left and drop off on your right that came out to a ledge above Big Creek River that was a great view & picnic area! Rode with Shelly's knowledge of the trails for 2 days, on my own 2 days and trailered to Leatherwood with Gina & Rita who were fun to ride with! Shawn has a trailer that you can use for free! Electric & water at all campsites. Top campsites have a large gathering campfire site with benches & firewood that overlooks mountains and lower campsite also has a great gathering area around fire pit and 2 really nice barns. Also a nice deck to lounge on in front of the bathroom & laundry building. They have a map but need a few natural land markings on trails to help locate where you are at. A GPS would be helpful here! Would go back. Around 600 miles for us. Shawn checked in on us morning & night and was an excellent Host!!!!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 11/14/2015 10:45:15 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2015 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Double M Campground, near junction, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I stayed at Double M for a week in Sept. 2018 and had a level campsite, nice covered pen that was handy for water and manure pit. The owners were helpful and nice. Rode some trails by myself and also with some locals Jerry Rudd, and Becky and really enjoyed all the riding. Rode to Window Rock, Elbow Tree, Initial Tree, Tanner Hill, No No, High Knob, Dead Horse Canyon,Thacker Hollow,Paint Horse Cabin, Wagon Trail,Squeeze, Vulture Trail, Rattle Snake Ridge, Saw Bee Hive, Lake View Cemetery, Frog Pond, Blue Hole, York Lane to see an A Frame house, saw What would Johnny Cash do sign. Loved seeing all the Chicago Bob artistry. Food was good in restaurant. 520 Miles for me and well worth the drive.
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 4/15/2020 12:07:09 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/9/2019 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Big Creek Trail Ride, near Hartshorn, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice camp! Little leveling needed, electric & water at each site, have free firewood. Stalls have water at every other stall, wheel barrow, sawdust, stalls are pretty much enclosed. Great riding! Can ride to cabins, waterfall, spring, Akers Toll Ferry, 3 bridges & school houses. Nichols Cabin is a great ride! Good picnic areas for all day rides! Fair map. We saddled at our trailer. Bob has excellent stories with the history of area! We were riding on our own and would like to try the organized ride. Brett is great to work with for booking out of state guest. Clean trails, camp, bathrooms, laundromat & tack store! Helpful & Friendly people working & camping! Worth our drive! Thanks!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 10/24/2012 10:59:02 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2012 Hometown: Waterloo , IA
Flying-R-Ranch, near West Plains, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Level sites with large covered stalls with shavings. Handy water & manure pits. Lots of free firewood! Bathroom, shower house & laundry are all clean & handy! Music on Fri & Sat night with Teri doing an excellent Ray Price! Excellent map to go with the trails and you can ride private land & Mark Twain National Forest. A lot of interesting sites & history to ride to! It is great to have a choice of cooking or eating good food in their dining hall! Nice tack & more store with the Best Helping Employees!!!! From the moment you pull in their driveway, you'll see all the work that has been done in this newer camp & they're still doing more! The decorations are awesome! Thanks for making it available for us to come from Iowa & enjoy this! Hope to drive thru your front gates again!!!!!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 10/31/2014 8:12:48 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2014 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Pinecrest Campground and Cabins, near Salem, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were here in 2008 and it had new covered stalls with water, sawdust and wheelbarrow available. Very handy! The shower was clean with hot water! We rode to Nicols cabin, barn, a cute cabin with a male & female wood carvings on side of cabin, 3 chain of lakes, cross and a school. Was a great campground & trails!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 9/12/2017 9:39:52 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2016 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Hocking Hills State Park / Three Reasons Farms , near Logan, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Electric and water at each site. No shade at site. Sites could be longer so I unhooked and it worked. Bathrooms and showers are ok. There's a hitching post at each site to saddle. (2) 12 X 12 covered stalls come with each site which are right across the road with pipe swing gates, water in the middle and close manure pits with wheelbarrows so it's very handy. Lyn has maps on her door and can explain trails very well. Riding is Great! I rode to Airplane Rock, Old Mans Cave, The Squeeze, Table Rock, Box Canyon, Water Falls, 21 Horse Cave, Artesian Well and Red Rock.You can drive to flea market, Old Man's Cave and several other things. Visitor Center is great and has a pencil sharpener collection. 715 miles for me as I first rode at Tanglewood Acres and was well worth the drive!!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 9/11/2017 1:31:15 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/11/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Tanglewood Acres Horsecamp, near Bainbridge, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rich & Marie are great host and very helpful. They will bring gate panel for pens to your site. Electric and Water are both handy and they have a few manure pits with wheel barrows and forks. Lots of shade for horses and campers and a good high tie going all around the camp. Two cute buildings, one for girls and one for guys that has one shower and a couple of toilets in each. They have a trail map and trails have signs with white blaze for horses. Rode with Marie one day and rode with Dan & Sheila to Alderman Cemetery on another day. They have a shelter and bbq that would be great for get together. Was a nice place and they have a cute western building that could be a great gathering place in poor weather or gift shop. Was 655 miles for me and on my way to Hocking Hills. Glad I stayed there!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 9/11/2017 12:51:41 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Big Elk Lick Horse Camp, near Benezette, Pa

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Candy are excellent host, very happy and always around the campground ready to help with information or anything else needed! Beautiful large campgrounds with cute cabins throughout and a creek running through. Shower house has 2 showers and bathrooms and a large gathering area with a sink , refrigerator, chairs and tv. It is very clean! The campsites are fairly level. and electric at each one with water in a few areas. You may put up high ties behind trailer or rent their covered stalls as they have a few barns thought the ground. Elk entertained me each of the 8 days that I was there right in the campground! Elk Country Visitor Center, The Cross and Veterans Memorial are close to drive to and a must see! Good food at Benezette Hotel. Rode to Rock House, went under RR bridge, Dr Seus House, Granny Leathers grave site , past cabins and there were good water crossings and views. Lots of wildlife to see, deer, elk turkey buzzards and I was able to take pictures of a bear! Ask for the map to the houses and Thunder Mountain Horse Trails. Thanks to Mountain Man Bob and all the many others that I rode and socialized with! It was 860 Miles for me and worth the drive!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 9/12/2017 10:41:29 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/16/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Candy are excellent host, very happy and always around the campground ready to help with information or anything else needed! Beautiful large campgrounds with cute cabins throughout and a creek running through. Shower house has 2 showers and bathrooms and a large gathering area with a sink , refrigerator, chairs and tv. It is very clean! The campsites are fairly level. and electric at each one with water in a few areas. You may put up high ties behind trailer or rent their covered stalls as they have a few barns thought the ground. Elk entertained me each of the 8 days that I was there right in the campground! Elk Country Visitor Center, The Cross and Veterans Memorial are close to drive to and a must see! Good food at Benezette Hotel. Rode to Rock House, went under RR bridge, Dr Seus House, Granny Leathers grave site , past cabins and there were good water crossings and views. Lots of wildlife to see, deer, elk turkey buzzards and I was able to take pictures of a bear! Ask for the map to the houses and Thunder Mountain Horse Trails. Thanks to Mountain Man Bob and all the many others that I rode and socialized with! It was 860 Miles for me and worth the drive!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 9/13/2017 12:45:31 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/16/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
Big South Fork - Honey Creek Horse Camp Inc., near Allardt, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Oct 2016 was great weather to ride great trails from Honey Creek to Needles Eye, Gun Rock, White Oak Trail OL, Gert Wiley Trail, Grooms Branch, Jakes Hole, Overlook to RR Bridge, Oh Shit Trail & O&W Bridge. Needles Eye is a must see and they had maps by the shower house. Our site was level, water & electric. We used pens and they were nice. Hitching rails were broke and they need a dumpster to control garbage but it takes time when you are new owners and once they get them fixed I'd give them a 5 Star rating! Was a very relaxed campground! Enjoyed our time there! Was 750 miles and would go back! Thanks! You're getting it really nice!
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/17/2017 6:06:27 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2016 Hometown: Waterloo, IA
True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF, near Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Barn turned into a social place and was very handy with tack & feed as they helped you move it from your trailer when you pulled in. Met a lot of great people there! Had a nice wash station & turn out for your horse. Common area was nice with tv to watch football and also had a great 2 man band on Sat. Store was very cute and what a variety! Every night found out info on trails to ride the next day and they always knew the milage and would go over the trails and show you on map so I loved that! I had their map and a different one too so we did well. Had some quick snacks out of Stage Coach trailer which was nice. The riding is Great! Rode to Fiddlers Arch, Hippy Cave, WildCat Den, Cumberland Valley, Grooms Branch, N White Oak & OL, Coyle Branch, Yellow Face, Salt Pine Trail, Leatherwood, missed bear here by 10 minutes, and saw Hwy Bridge. Was 750 miles for us and would go back! Very helpful with trail & local information. We drove to Sgt. Alvin York and enjoyed the site seeing. Shawn, Donna & Brittany have good personalities for their business! Thanks from Morris & Linda Dolph & Alice
Reviewed by Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/17/2017 5:45:20 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/5/2016 Hometown: Waterloo, IA