HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Mike Lisa's Reviews

Seven Springs Lodge, near Tuscumbia, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Seven Springs and although the weather was unpleasant for the first two days the overall experience was very nice. The camp ground is laid out nice and for the most part no matter where you camp you are close to stalls. The sites are somewhat close together but since we were with a group of three other trailers it made it nice. The stalls we had were large enough to accommodate both our 15 hand mules with space to spare and were in very good shape. The bath house was very nice with four complete rooms with shower, toilet, & sink that were in the middle of the camp ground in a renovated grain bin. The trails were well marked with a map that was easy to follow for even the first time visitor. It would be difficult to get lost and for the most part all the trails were easily passable even after 2 days of rain. The challenging parts of the trails are well marked and can be avoided with an easier path and the ground was clay dirt with areas of rock but nice on our mule’s feet almost everywhere we rode. There are areas that can be steep but wide open so you have plenty of space and time to prepare or rest before and after the climb if needed. The real attraction to this campground is the rattlesnake saloon located at the bottom of a hill inside of a rock overhang right on the campground that can be reached either by foot or taxi shuttle provide by the camp. We took a lunch break one day and visited on Friday night for dinner and a band and both times were enjoyable. The food and drinks are reasonably priced so that you can enjoy this with your family. I would and most likely will return one day to this campground and found it worth the 5 hour trip.
Reviewed by mike lisa on 4/10/2013 3:22:12 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/3/2013 Hometown: Hartford, KY
Double M, near Junction, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our third trip to Double M, and as before Heath meet us at the entrance and walked us through the check in process without incident. Since we were there for our KY spring break week the campground was not overly crowded and we had our choice of stalls for the 4 nights we stayed. The campground was nice but I will have to say that the bathhouse was not as well kept as what we had seen in the past trips. I attribute this to it being early in the ridding season and may have not had the big spring cleaning yet??? (but, I am sure this will be confirmed by reviews later in the year)…. The restaurant was very good and is priced very well for the amount of food we were served. The riding in Shawnee National forest was excellent as always and is one of my favorite places to ride. The trails are well marked and clear for most any rider. If you have never had the opportunity to ride the Shawnee then I would definitely recommend you add this to your bucket list. Overall I would, and do go back to Double M at least once per year, but I do have to agree with other comments concerning the number of loose dogs at camp. We did have an issue with one dog trying to pack off things but it did not rune the trip, and I believe that the owners are working to improve this issue.
Reviewed by Mike Lisa on 5/28/2014 2:52:10 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2014 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip to Double M. We came with a group of 6 trailers and Heath meet us at the office to show us our reserved spots and stalls. The weather was PERFECT and although the campground was full for the holiday weekend everything was very well maintained. The campground continues to improve each year and new sites have been added. The maps work well with the markings in the national forest so it is easy to get around. The trials were in very good shape considering the wet spring. The bathhouse is small for a full holiday weekend but no one seemed to mind and only waited a little bit on Saturday night. This is an excellent place to ride and camp and the owners do seem to care about everything going on and keep the place under control at all times. The only negative comment that I would give for the consideration of improvement would be that on several occasions we had other campers dogs at our sites while trying to eat. I realize that this is difficult to enforce and better controlled by owners so I still give this campground a 5 star rating.
Reviewed by mike lisa on 5/29/2013 8:00:27 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2013 Hometown: Hartford, KY
Double M Campground, near junction, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had another enjoyable trip to Double M campground. We stayed 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend in the lower group section and had stalls in the barn by the road. Both the site and stalls were clean and nice for our group. We camped with 3 other trailers and Heath allowed us to put our trailers in however we needed which added to the experience. We also ate several times at the restaurant and all the meals were good quality and priced accordingly. Double M seems to always have extra activities for the holiday weekend and this year they had a tack auction on Saturday and a scavenger hunt on Sunday. I will say that they always seem to be adding improvements to the campground and as always the ridding in Shawnee National forest is great and Double M has some of the best maps we have been given. We did not use the bath house ourselves but one of our group did and seemed satisfied with the facilities, however from the bottom of the campground to the bathhouse it is easier to drive than walk. We have been coming to Double M for years and we are always treated fairly and Heath always seems genuinely pleased to have you at his campground. We have camped at several campgrounds in Shawnee and I can honestly say that I believe Double M is one of the top choices for an overall experience.
Reviewed by Mike Lisa on 6/2/2015 10:55:11 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2015 Hometown: Hartford, KY
Double J Stables & Horsemen's Campground- Under new Ownership, near Mammoth Cave, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had our first trip to Double J this past weekend for our group of four trailers and found the campground to be very nice. The campground can accommodate around 22 trailers and the layout is roomy enough so that you are not on top of each other with the sites level enough that one board either way would take care of the trailer. The main sites all have electric and water at each one. The covered stalls are excellent (14’x14’) and have shavings supplied, but they also have 12’x12’ pins outside for a cheaper price….. The campground was full for the holiday weekend and with only 2 bath houses in the main campground you may have had to wait a few minutes to shower but they were nice and clean. Saturday night they had a band playing and provided several other activities during the weekend. The owners were very nice to us and came around at least 2 or 3 times a day to ask if we needed Ice or wood. When we did need ice they brought it right to the trailer so you could pay at your site. Overall I would definitely stay at this campground again. The trail riding in Mammoth Cave Park is very nice and the trails are well marked and easy to follow. Double J has access directly out of the back of the campground onto Collie Ridge with about a 30 min walk to the first cut off trail. My only negative feedback would be that after 3 days of riding I did get tired of the Collie Ridge trip in and out but would not let that stop me from coming back. In closing, I would recommend staying at Double J for the camping and riding
Reviewed by Mike Lisa on 5/28/2014 2:25:42 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2014 Hometown: Hartford, KY
Wranglers campground (Land Between the Lakes), near cadiz, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

nice place but they have raised the prices on everything.... Stalls now $15 per night and no shavings.
Reviewed by mike lisa on 3/18/2013 2:59:21 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/9/2013 Hometown: Hartford, KY
Circle E Guest Ranch, LLC, near Winchester, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip to Circle E guest ranch and since this was KY spring break week and not TN the campground was not busy at all. The weather was nice the 4 days we were there but it had rained considerably the week prior to our visit so the trails had several muddy spots. We stayed on the saw mill side of the campground since one of our group had rented a cabin, (which had a nice view over the bluff) and our sites were very nice with Electric (50amp), water, and sewer hook ups. The barn is one of the nicest we have used and for $5 per day they will clean your stall while you are out riding, which we did enjoy having that amenity. The campground is clean but sadly the restaurant is now only open for group rides. The maps are very easy to follow and the riding for the most part is easy to navigate but you will pull several inclines so have your mount legged up prior to the visit. I have never been on one of their group rides but I believe that the facilities would provide a good experience. If you have never ridden in this part of Tennessee then I would recommend visiting. The owners have worked hard to provide a very nice campground with lots of trails to explore.
Reviewed by Mike Lisa on 6/2/2015 11:22:54 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/6/2015 Hometown: Hartford, KY