HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Pratt's Reviews

Shimek State Forest, near Farmington, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a fantastic time at River Valley Horse Camp!! The hosts were excellent and so were the accomadations. The shower house is unbelievable and well worth using even if you have your own shower....we did! Beautiful lodge with patio that you can sit in on the hottest of days and feel comfortable visiting with friends. The trails were great as well even though some were pretty wet and muddy you could easily avoid them if needed. The forest was beautiflly maintained. We spent 3 full days riding and one day rode 6 hours and were not on the same trail twice. All weather trail in forest was great for moving our horses out. The main forest trail is fine cinder and some tender footed horses may appreciate shoes but we certainly didn't need ours. Map can be a little difficult but once you ride for a day or two you will figure it out. I would highly recommend this ranch. We used the arena, roundpen and obstacle course which was nice as something fun to do in the evening after resting from our morning ride. It was well worth the 6-7 hour drive for us and we will go back again and again!!
Reviewed by Pratt on 9/2/2013 3:20:58 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/1/2013 Hometown: Palmyra, NE
Kanopolis State Park - Rockin'K Campground, near Salina, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love Kanopolis and are sure to travel there to ride at least once a year. The campground is well maintained and the shower house is a short distance from the camp. The corals are HUGE! They are not reserved and are on a first come first served basis. They tend to be busy on the weekends and we have been able to put 3 of our horses in one pen. DUring the week we have never had a problem and many times have the whole place to ourselves. Water and electric hook ups at the sites. The trails are good. Some of the trails have quite a few rocks but they are the round smooth type. We have ridden some of our more tender footed horses there for several days without shoes and they did fine. Nice deep water crossing and some pretty challenging areas for the more experienced horse and rider. Most of the riding is out in the sun and can be very hot. Bring sunscreen if you go in the heat of the summer! We usually plan our trip in the spring or fall to avoid this. This is a must visit horse camp if you are anywhere within 4 hours, maybe further. The cost is also very reasonable.
Reviewed by Pratt on 9/2/2013 3:35:40 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2013 Hometown: Palmyra, NE
Branched Oak State Rec Area, near Raymond, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Visited the new Branched Oak Lake campgrounds this year. There are several corals available. There are electric hookups but there is only 1 water hydrant which is centrally located in the campground. Although there are some very small trees planted, most were dying due to the drought and there is absolutely no shade so be prepared for some serious heat! The trails are very easy to negotiate and well maintained. The main trail is manicured and you can easily ride 2 or 3 abreast and most of the trails are shadded. The rest of the trails are off-shoots of the main trail and are more narrow. The trails are nice if you like a chance to move out with your horse as the main trial is level with good footing. No need for shoes. We stayed for 2 days and that was plenty of time to ride the trails which are pretty much out and back. This would be a great place early in the year to go to get your horse legged up for some more challenging rides or just a day ride with friends. I only down-rated the campground due to lack of trees and shade. Unfortunately it will be many years before there are any trees large enough to enjoy.
Reviewed by Pratt on 9/2/2013 3:08:56 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/15/2013 Hometown: Palmyra, NE
Pawnee Lake State Rec Area, near Lincoln, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great day ride especially in the summer heat. Plenty of shade on the trails and in the campground. Trails are easy to negotiate and include plenty of areas to gallop horses down the trail. The footing is good and there is no need for shoes. The only downside is the lack of electric and water at the camping sites. There is only 1 electric site and a centrally located water hydrant that is quite a distance from the 2 corrals provided. The corals are roomy and can easily fit 3 horses that get along well together.
Reviewed by Pratt on 9/15/2013 12:28:29 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2013 Hometown: Palmyra, NE
Turkey Creek Ranch, near Newcastle, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have enjoyed Turkey Creek many times since our first visit and review. We have enjoyed family functions here with our entire family by renting one of the gorgeous on-site cabins and stayed in the campground with our very large living quarters trailer. The stalls are meticulously groomed by John (One of the owners) as is the entire campground. There are 2 fantastic obstacle courses close to the campsites to which John is constantly adding new obstacles too. Several bridges on the trails to cross as well as both wide trails you can ride abreast on and single foot trails. The footing is dirt based, no need for shoes. We love the short 4 hour drive to this hidden gem of a campground, especially early in the year when we are legging our horses up for bigger rides. Your horses will get in shape here! Nice steep and long climbs with excellent footing. If your horse is in good shape you can really move up and down these trails. John and Brenda are some of the nicest people around. We have enjoyed helping them keep the trails clear, painting the shower house and building new obstacles. They also live very close to camp and attend to our every need and request.....Thanks for the round pen John!! Don't forget to have Brenda bring you down some shirts and hats!!
Reviewed by Pratt on 7/22/2016 12:35:30 PM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/9/2016 Hometown: Palmyra, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We tried out Turkey Creek for the first time this year and can't believe we haven't been going for years!! The hosts are excellent and tend to your every need. The campground is well kept and there is a clean shower house in the camping area. The horse corals are shaded and roomy. The area can get pretty wet with rain but they seem to dry out quickly. No need for shoes here!! Good shaded trails for summer riding with lots of wildlife. Some flat open areas and lots of hills and challenging areas as well. We will be going back again this year.
Reviewed by Pratt on 9/2/2013 2:59:32 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/1/2013 Hometown: Palmyra, NE