HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

RachelV's Reviews

Hayes Canyon Campground, near Eddyville, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed at Hayes Canyon after traveling from Ohio, arriving at another local camp that was found to be completely unacceptable. Called Hayes Canyon on the recommendation of some day riders we met at the first camp. They were able to take us and we found the camp to be more than acceptable! It was neat, tidy, clean, and well organized. The sites were a bit tight but Ben was more than helpful in getting our rigs into good position. They provide wagons for manure and haul it away from your site every morning. The bath house was utterly immaculate, you could have eaten off the floor in there. It was one of the cleanest camps we have been to in the years we have been camping. There are a lot of permanent campers there and the folks we met were helpful and friendly. The trails were excellent. The Shawnee Conservancy and the Forest Service are doing a great job hardening the trails. For the most part they are well marked but we highly recommend maps and GPS. I bought the Shawnee conservancy map and found it to exceptionally accurate. There were some intersections where the trail markings were sparse resulting in some difficulty getting the right trail. Overall I rate camp and trails as excellent.
Reviewed by RachelV on 6/21/2015 8:46:08 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2015 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Deam Lake S.R.A., near Borden, In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

travelled to Deam Lake in October for 5 days. the campground here at Deam Lake is well thought out. There are many horse campsites - you can either get one with ties or one with 2 stalls. The stalls are huge, well constructed, and most importantly CLEAN!! there are comfort stations throughout the camp - hot water showers are a plus. The showers have timed valves but just require frequent pushes to keep the hot water flowing. The trails are wide and course along the tops of the ridges around the lake and into the surrounding forest. They are well graded, have some steep and challenging areas, and hook into the Clark State Forest north of here. I highly recommend this well kept secret!!!
Reviewed by RachelV on 10/9/2012 3:20:14 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2012 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Hangem High Horse Camp, near London, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to London KY and HangEm High Horse camp this October. The camp was easy to find - relatively close to major roads and facilities. We were quickly checked in and shown our spot. The stalls were clean and well bedded. We high lined the first night and used stalls the next 2 nights. The camp is relatively new, small, but clean and tidy. There is only one male and one female bathroom/shower. I imagine as they get busier they will need to expand this. The trails were FANTASTIC - beautiful rock formations. Pretty well marked. Some VERY steep areas. Would not want to ride when it was really wet there. The pink loops were some of the best riding we have had east of the Mississippi. Seemed to go on forever and was really nice riding, primitive trails. Sunni and her husband were very helpful to us. Sunni helped us find quick access to trails etc. They have a nice little store on site. There is ice. Water and electric at sites were easy to reach. We were there in October and the stalls were nice and cool. They have a large primitive camping area that is very well shaded. We will definitely go back again soon!!
Reviewed by RachelV on 11/13/2016 8:05:57 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2016 Hometown: Chardon, OH
red hill horse camp, near Mt. Vernon, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to Red Hill for 2 days in October on our way to TN. The camp was easy to find out of Livingston on a pretty, winding road. Fairly close to the interstate. The camp itself was very tidy and shady. The stalls were clean and bedded when we arrived there. Most of the camp sites are in amongst the trees. Gene was so friendly and helpful. He greeted us right away and took my husband through the camp on his cart to find a site. He rode around the camp often to check on everyone. He went over the trail map with me. The bathrooms were clean and tidy. The shower water was hot!! The trails were cleared well and gorgeous through these foothills. The markings were a bit hard to find, mostly on trees and were hidden by leaves etc. We rode out with a group of folks from Michigan and spent 6 hours on the trails and only covered a small portion of the trails. Will have to go back to see the rest and get onto the Sheltowee Trace.
Reviewed by RachelV on 10/13/2013 1:48:00 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2013 Hometown: , OH
Beaver Creek State Park, near East Liverpool , Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beaver Creek is a frequent stop for us every year. The trails keep getting better and better marked. Had some problems with a very steep and wet section of the yellow trail starting out from camp. When it is wet the bottom trails can be very boggy. The upper trails remain nice most of the time. The campground is clean, the other riders keep the areas cleaned up, and the manure bins are emptied regularly. Water remains an issue here, there was no water buffalo out the weekend we were there and we had to use the hand pump. A campground host is present on site most weekends.
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/2/2013 5:06:20 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/26/2013 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC, near Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Elkins Creek for 4 days in late August 2018. While we found the road in to be a bit dicey, narrow, low visibility curves, once we got there we were in heaven. Large campground, plenty of space to maneuver. He has put in new space across the road that looks like a really nice area to camp. We camped behind the main building on a little creek. The stalls were clean and ready when we unloaded. A camp host was there as Rick was working on trails and he was very helpful in finding stalls and sites. The camp was not busy this particular weekend. Everything was clean and tidy. The trails have really improved, you can really tell they have been busy improving existing trails and laying new ones. Wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back!!
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/9/2018 9:25:00 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/22/2018 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode Wayne National Forest out of Elkins Creek for 3 days over the Labor Day weekend. This was our second trip to Elkins Creek and found it just keeps getting better. THe campground is neat, tidy, organized. The bathrooms clean. The stalls are plentiful and clean. Bedded on arrival. The trails are well marked and there are maps that are available are easy to follow. New trails this year were quite nice. Rick had done alot of work on the trails himself. The brambles were cut back and there were no wet areas (although it has been quite dry). But you could tell the wet areas had been graded and filled with stone. The trail are scenic. Winding through the forest. The high areas provide quite a vista. Rick and Jill are wonderful host/hostess. They let us put the horses in an arena so they could stretch their legs after the long drive. They were constantly coming around making sure we had everything we needed. There is a nice little grocery store in the town of Aid that cuts its own meats. Next time we are just going to shop when we get there!! I would recommend Elkins Creek as a destination or a stop over on your way further south. It is east to get to off of I - 64 and could be a great place to stop, ride a few days and break up a longer trip!
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/2/2012 5:44:19 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2012 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 4 days at Elkins Creek and rode the trails in the southern unit of the Wayne National Forest. Rick and Jill were extremely accommodating, despite us arriving late to a campground full of campers, they found us 2 spots side by side for our large rigs. The campground is tidy and sits in the center of the forest. The roads coming in were narrow but passable. There are many electric sites and Rick and Jill continue to improve the facilities. They have a tack store on site and can provide meals if needed. While we were there some campers left and went on to another campground and had to turn around and come back as their sites were given away. When they got back late at night Rick had a meal waiting for them. When you come to Elkins Creek you are family. The trails were muddy in spots but for the most part were very scenic. We rode 13 hours over 4 days and there were still at least 20 miles of trails we did not get to see. The forest service is working with horsemen in the area to improve and expand equestrian trails in the nit so watch for new trails here. The trails wind through the forest and have nice switchbacks for the steeper sections. Scenic high points were scattered throughout the system. There is a primitive public horsemen's camp that was really nicely laid out but would be difficult for big rigs to access or turn around at. I highly recommend both Elkins Creek and the Wayne National Forest as excellent riding destinations.
Reviewed by RachelV on 10/19/2011 5:22:32 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2011 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Hocking Hills State Park / Three Reasons Farms , near Logan, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at 3 Reasons for 2 nights in their cabin next to the campground. It was air conditioned. The horses had a 2 acre pasture to themselves but not much shade in the pasture. The cabin was neat and clean. It had a fully stocked kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, and stove. The campground is small and quiet. The stalls were roomy and water was readily available. The trails were well marked and the Ohio Horseman's Council map was easier to use than the State printed map. The trails were varied from low grades to steep narrow twisting through the rock formations. Some of the places we could ride to we unbelievably beautiful. Caves were accessible on horseback and some we could ride right in. We rode 2 days and only covered about a third of the park. Most of the trails were dry and hard packed. Soil was loamy to some rocky areas. Not many water crossings or water for the horses in the areas we rode. Insects were not too bad but when we came across horseflies they were big! I would strongly recommend this park for intermediate riders and above. There were some areas as we went off the Orange trail up toward parachute rock that were treacherous. There were both out and back rides as well as loops.
Reviewed by RachelV on 8/18/2009 7:25:42 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2009 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Cook Forest Area Scenic Trail Ride, near Clarion, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The purpose of the this site is to provide factual reviews of facilities. They are not all going to be favorable on every aspect or they likely would not be true. Please don't criticize people for giving opinions. I loved being at PA trail ride, I am making a little video for them of the trails I taped so they can use it for publicity. I have spent a lot of time editing etc and was going to make it a Christmas surprise. Just because I don't write every word a favorable word does not mean I did not like it there. Your sarcastic comments Jay are just that, your opinion and a sarcastic one at that.
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/24/2013 5:18:55 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/21/2013 Hometown: ,
Hickory Creek Wilderness Ranch, near Tidioute, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was neat and clean. Camping sites were level and well shaded where we camped. Bathhouses were a trek away from camping area but they brought a port-a-potty to our area which helped. Trails were nice and well marked. We only got to ride part of the trails as the weather turned bad on us. We look forward to going back soon.
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/18/2011 6:35:15 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2011 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Long C Trails, near Westmoreland, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We traveled to Long C trails in September 2017 unfortunately same week that left over hurricane Irma traveled through... despite the weather we thoroughly enjoyed our week here. The trails are EXTREMELY well marked, you cannot get lost! The trails are gorgeous, traversing hills and valleys, through fields, and along lazy rivers. The trails are quite challenging and rugged in places. They are primitive for the most part in the woods. The field trails are some farm roads. The camp is clean, well organized, and extremely well maintained. Dogs are welcome. The owners - Jack and Jean - are friendly and helpful. They have a small store with t shirts. They have ice and hay for sale. There are stalls if you so desire or you can keep horse are the site in the woods. Some sites have electricity and water. WiFi is set up to reach all areas of the campground. It is close to Mammoth Cave and we traveled there to visit the Caves one rainy day. There is a Food Lion in Scottsville about 30 min away. There are cows on some of the trails and you do ride close to them. We will definitely be back! They have an area for day riders to park as well.
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/13/2017 6:40:03 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/12/2017 Hometown: Chardon, OH
True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF, near Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went to true West for our 3rd time in October 2016. As usual we had an excellent experience. We were promptly checked in, then able to unload our horses and gear at the barn. The owners help with this and even clean out your trailer. The camp is extremely neat and clean. They haul the manure away frequently which i believe is important and helps with the overall cleanliness of the facility. The bathroom/shower sheds are clean and warm. The owners were very helpful in selecting trails for our riding and even took us in a trailer to an outlying trailhead to start our ride. The trails are pretty easy, well marked, and there are not small loops here. The rock formations are fabulous. Shawn, Donna, and Brittany are friendly and helpful. They are constantly working to improve things. This year they added a food concession. We only ate there once, breakfast, but it was a wonderful and tasty breakfast sandwich on a bagel. Hot off the grill!! I would highly recommend this camp for any level of equestrian.. We met some wonderful people there.
Reviewed by rachelv on 11/4/2016 7:54:58 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/25/2016 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Returned to True West this October for our second visit. Shawn and Donna were very helpful on many levels. The office is well organized, they help with unloading, unpacking, and settling in at your campsite. The store is well stocked. The facilities are immaculate - the bathrooms are clean and tidy. The trails are pretty well marked and extensive. Shawn and Donna both helped us plan our rides. We will be back!!
Reviewed by RachelV on 10/26/2014 4:58:08 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2014 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to True West from Ohio for 5 days in early October. We were very pleased with the campground, facilities, and people here. Shawn greeted us when we arrived, helped us unload and get the horses settled. The barn was very tidy and well organized. They do not allow the horses to the camping area, all tacking up occurs in the barn. I found this to be a great idea - kept the camp area clean of horse "stuff" and "hoof holes"!!! The bathrooms were clean and the showers hot! Shawn never stopped working. He was always checking on things, running wood to campsites, cleaning, mowing, and generally running things around the camp. Even so, he always would stop and chat to get to know us and always made sure we had what we needed. Donna took us into the park and to the Hostel at Charit Creek on an all day excursion and it was a pleasure to get to know her. There is a store with essentials, ice was readily available, and even WiFi on the deck for connecting with the internet. They have put their heart and souls into this camp, and have made it a MUST DO location for trail riders. You won't regret a minute spent at this camp. The trails were great, even though the government shut down was going on we had plenty of places to ride and explore. Most of the park was still accessible. The trails are well cleared, well marked, and easy to follow with maps. We had the Trails Illustrated map and found it very helpful in addition to the maps from the campground. The camp will also trailer you out to different locations in the park, so you can ride back. With miles and miles of trails there, next time we will take advantage of this service and increase the places we can see in this park.
Reviewed by RachelV on 10/13/2013 1:38:26 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2013 Hometown: , OH
High Country Horse Camp, near Troutdale, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 5 days at High Country this August. The camp was clean and tidy. The stalls were ready and bedded when we arrived. The sites we had were very nice, shaded and level. The whole camp is on an incline but the sites are leveled out nicely. The camp is managed by several people, we met Doug and Kelly. Both were nice and had a wealth of knowledge about the trails. They arranged for trailing us to different trail heads which made the riding nicer. The trails are quite steep and rocky. The Trails Illustrated map was accurate and very helpful in keeping us on track. The Park itself was great the trails were cleared and for the most part passable. We enjoyed the Lewis Wilderness and rising up to the Scales. The Iron Mountain trail is beautiful but rocky in places as were all the trails. There are lots of other things to see and do in the area. A trip to Damascus and dinner on the river there at the old Damascus Mill was great. We biked on the Va Creeper Trail. The town is known as Trail Town USA and the AT goes through there as well.
Reviewed by RachelV on 9/2/2012 5:54:49 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2012 Hometown: Chardon, OH
Hungry Horse East, LLC, near Ivanhoe, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to Virginia in October 2018 to Hungry Horse East. The camp one of the nicest camps we have visited. It is set back from the road, alongside a creek that winds through the center of camp, that does require driving across a shallow section to get to the main area of the camp. Reservations were done ahead of time online, submitted all the equine paperwork, and paid for the stay at the same time. All the camp rules and fees are posted there online. Check in is done at the main office via iPad. There are 14 sites all level and have good amount of gravel with a picnic table at each site. The barn is at the top of a hill alongside the main area of the camp. Trucks can go up, but not trailers. There is a second barn with the first few sites as you come into camp with 6 stalls for campers on that side of the creek. Power and water at east site and a few have sewer connections. There is a dump station easily accessible as well. There are several trails leading right out of camp. We were only there 5 days as a hurricane drove us home early, but the trails we rode were wonderful. A mixture of grass forests roads, narrow winding single tracts, some more challenging than others. Long steep climbs as well to get to higher ground. Many creek crossings in some areas. We will need to go back in order to ride more of these scenic trails. Management of the camp is very efficient. Online registrations are done ahead of time. On site manager is available for campers. The owner was friendly and reasonable and in fact offered us a refund or a credit for next year since we were being driven off by severe weather. We took the raincheck for next year! Trail maps are useful and in conjunction with our Garmin helped keep us on track.
Reviewed by RachelV on 10/13/2018 11:48:38 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2018 Hometown: Chardon, OH