HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

kim's Reviews

Lonesome D Horse Camp, near New Blaine , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

very scenic trails and surroundings. Trails marked good, but intersections were tricky in trying to figure where to go. Bathrooms/showers were nice and people all very friendly. On site farrier was great! We lost a shoe and Wayne was very accomodating to work with our schedule. If you print out a mapquest map, it is very easy to find if you watch your directions. We would return in the future. We stayed a week and still didn't see all the scenery or trails. Trails were challenging and fun to ride. Met some really nice people while we were there. It's worth the extra money to get an extra corral, especially if you have horses that don't get along so well with each other.
Reviewed by Kim on 10/10/2007 6:03:53 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/3/2007 Hometown: Chariton, IA
St. Sebastian River State Buffer Preserve, near Sebastian, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Some of the areas are quite nice and shady. The campground does have stalls and water but no electric. There are many trails to choose from. Can be wet in area after heavy rain.
Reviewed by Kim on 3/10/2005 9:41:49 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/10/2005 Hometown: Melbourne, FL
F.D. Roosevelt State Park, near Warm Springs, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Highly recommend shoes on your horses! It is extremely rocky mountain!
Reviewed by Kim on 5/25/2012 7:31:09 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/28/2012 Hometown: Warner Robins, GA
Double M Campground, near junction, il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i love double M i have camped thier since i was three
Reviewed by kim on 1/29/2008 11:22:55 AM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: morganfield , KY
Franklin Creek trails and campground, near Franklin Grove, Il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

These are good trails for intermediate riders, many are spider trails (single file in the brush)and are fun to ride, but may scare a beginner. There are some open meadow trails around the woods. A wide variety of terrain, good hills and horse steps have been added to keep them from being washed out. Very nice big wide creek with a rock bottom right at the trail entrance for the horses to drink from (or people to cool off in) at the start and finish of the ride. Be careful on the lower trails when it is wet, there can be muddy areas and the park will close if it gets to bad. The campground is well kept, but only a handful of shady spots to camp it. No electric sites, but you can run your generator. And there is a large arena if you want to work your horse or teach a beginner to ride. We go there a lot and enjoy it very much. My 2yr old Rocky has learned to trail ride here.
Reviewed by Kim on 6/27/2012 7:08:31 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/26/2012 Hometown: Somonauk, IL
Hoosier National Forest - Monk's Mule and Horse Camp, near Norman, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love Monks campgrounds, and we are under 50 years old. The camp rules are very appropriate to keeping everyone safe and having a quiet enjoyable stay. We recommend it to all our friends. The trails are the best in Indiana.
Reviewed by Kim on 7/3/2007 2:50:45 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/3/2007 Hometown: Bedford, IN
Midwest Trail Ride, near Norman , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are medium in difficulty, with good maps. You have to ride the same trail out for about 40 minutes. The facilities were great. Personnel very friendly and helpful. Lots of showers, nice store, good food, and always have coffee on. Stalls are small, but very adequate.
Reviewed by Kim on 1/29/2005 5:34:44 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/12/2004 Hometown: Hubbard Lake, MI
Panther Creek Trail Rides, near Tuscumbia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great week of riding, the place is run by two great people, they make you feel welcome. The place is kept in tip top shape. Great place to go and ride either by your self or with their schedule rides. The food is great. The riding is great, just a darn right great place. See you next year.
Reviewed by Kim on 10/7/2012 7:22:00 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2012 Hometown: Salem, IN
H. Cooper Black Recreation Area, near Patrick, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved this place! Sandy, wide trails. The weather was just perfect when we were there. We camped out with friends and had a wonderful time. Will be going back again.
Reviewed by Kim on 12/1/2009 5:47:09 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/31/2009 Hometown: Belmont, NC
Black Hills National Forest - TC Ranch/Horse Camp, near Custer, SD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been trying to reach this campground but have not been able to. Does anyone know if they are still open for business?
Reviewed by Kim on 2/21/2012 8:01:17 AM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/21/2012 Hometown: , KS
Wilderness Resorts Cabin Rentals, near Oneida, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 2nd trip to Wilderness, We stayed at the Magnolia, nice cabin, the downstairs bed was a rock and no one could sleep in it, sofa was better. The spa worked sometimes and the faucet at the washrack did not work. Kind of disapointed in the upkeep, cabin just down the road had a bunch of 4 wheelers and even tho signs are posted they were going down the road. Anyway the trails are great...........
Reviewed by Kim on 7/19/2012 4:10:20 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2012 Hometown: Greeneville, TN
Zenith Stables & Campground, near Allardt, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed at Zenith Horse Camp kinda by accident....and are we glad we did!! Great hosts and great riding. We were there for 3 days and had a wonderful time...we will be back!!!! Facilities were excellent as were the barns and the trails. Thanks!!
Reviewed by Kim on 8/6/2009 10:38:38 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/4/2009 Hometown: Chapel Hill, TN
Northern Kettle Morraine- Horseman's Campground, near New Prospect, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

sites are nice, water and pit toilets. Highline poles each site. terrian is rocky and sandy. Lots of variety hills, woods, meadows. Plenty of loops and 32 miles of main trail through 3 county's.
Reviewed by kim on 2/10/2008 7:47:23 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2007 Hometown: dousman, WI