HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

ta's Reviews

Idle Nook Horse Camp, near Y City, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse camping Heaven! We had the best time from the time we checked in and had all the help we needed to park our rig and stall our horses. Jack & Mitza are horse people who designed a horse camp for horse lovers. Trails right out of camp to access the Forche Mountain Trails (Formerly Mill Creek Equestrian Trails). There are mountain views, abandoned silver mines, beautiful rock formations, plenty of creek crossings and miles and miles of endless riding. Jack is great host and trail guide. The camp offers a peaceful setting at the base of Buck Knob Mountain. There 23 water and 30 amp electric hookups with stalls, (50 amp service on 2 of those sites), 2 shower houses a bunkhouse and a pavilion building with full kitchen for campers use. Definitely one of our new favorite camps.
Reviewed by ta on 8/10/2019 11:09:16 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2019 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Pike National-M Lazy C Guest Ranch and Campground, near Colorado Springs, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We brought our 4 horses 800 miles to M Lazy C the week of July 15. The back of the ranch bordering National Forest has RV sites with pipe corrals for those who bring their own horses/ The sites and pens were very clean and with great designs. We woke up first day to 49 degrees with low humidity and had a great ride in the national forest. Badger Mountain and Pikes Peak along with our GPS made riding easy all week without a guide or help. We saw Pronghorn antelope and jack rabbits while riding and got to see a shy black bear one night in camp. We had the steak dinner with hay ride the last night and the food was very good. The hot tub was broke one afternoon but the owners quickly got it repaired which was nice after our long rides. The owners and rv camp host were friendly and helpful but not invasive. There are few insects and we saw no snakes. Definitely on our list for return visit.
Reviewed by ta on 2/18/2018 2:35:18 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/15/2017 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Dry Fork Recreation, near Fulton, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have ridden these trails for years. This spring the smith creek/moon loop trail was wonderful. It appears the trails have had very low usage and this was allowed alot of growth to return. There are some cut backs around down trees and eroded areas which have really helped the area. Campground as always was clean. Dry Fork is back and worth the drive.
Reviewed by ta on 7/24/2016 1:55:22 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/21/2016 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Eagle Ranch Resort, near Collins, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to Eagle Ranch several times including before Jerry and Cheryl took over. The camp is always neat/clean and hosts are very welcoming. The main issue is limited miles of trails. Although they add cut backs there is only so much land available. Eagle Ranch is a great 2-3 day horse camp but for riding there is only about three full days. The camp with stalls is a bit pricey but for 2-3 day trip it is worth the price.
Reviewed by ta on 7/24/2016 2:00:12 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2015 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Frank Russell Campground, near Perry, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

April 16, 2017 was our third visit to Frank Russel in 4 years. This was by far the best riding. In 2016 FFA and Back Country horseman got a grant and made significant upgrades to the camp. All seven sites are paved with hook up, water, picnic table, fire ring, and hitching posts. Covered stalls available (10) on first come first serve basis. Trails are now well marked. We completed Prairie loop, Log cabin lob and around 20 miles of Joanna trail. We saw deer and turkey. Dump station is at camp entrance. Trails have moderate hills and some good views of Mark Twain Lake. There is nice fishing pond near camp. Well worth the trip.
Reviewed by ta on 4/17/2017 10:16:16 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2017 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Golden Hills , near Raymondville, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family has visited Golden Hills annually for 12+ years. While the camp and stalls need upgraded there are so many sites and stalls to choose from you can find a safe, well maintained stall and nice site anytime. GH is VERY affordable compared to the newer horse camps in Missouri. The trails are very well marked thanks to Cowboy Church group and if you get a map from the office you can ride for a week and not ride the same trail twice. The equine community development has changed the landscape but once you ride past the residential area the trails are beautiful. The hills, ride-in cave and creeks are worth the trip. No "hidden costs" and if you cook your meals at your campsite this is the most affordable horse camp (private with electric) in Missouri.
Reviewed by ta on 7/24/2016 2:06:50 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/27/2016 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Slabtown Trail Rides, near Roby, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Slabtown i closed
Reviewed by ta on 8/12/2019 11:08:28 PM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/1/2019 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Von Holten Ranch, near Sedalia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent weekend at Von Holten Ranch. The trails are very nice, we saw deer and turkey. The camp and stalls are the cleanest we have ever seen. The host/owners are wonderful and welcoming. Our only issue was there needs to be more trails, hopefully they can work out an arrangement with the neighbors. Definitely worth the trip for camping and riding.
Reviewed by ta on 7/24/2016 1:51:10 PM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/9/2016 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Robber's Cave Equestrian Camp, near Wilburton, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Most of the trails are pretty well marked, however, they are VERY rocky and navigating the rocks becomes tiring. My horses are experienced but ended up with scrapes and cuts on their pasterns and bulbs of heels from all the sharp rocks. Great views, and lots of trees to keep you cool while riding. The campground is really very nice, but unfortunate that even if you make reservations, and your site has a couple of stalls, if someone else gets to the campground first and takes your stalls, you've paid for a campsite and don't have the stalls to use with it. Very bad practice on the part of the park. First come first serve is not good business. One person came to the park with 7 horses, paid for one campsite and took SEVEN stalls. If you want to be sure you have your stalls, better get there before the weekend.
Reviewed by TA on 7/7/2012 8:20:35 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2012 Hometown: Shawnee, OK
Hay Creek Ranch, Northern Black Hills, near Nemo, SD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family has ridden all over & around Missouri, Hay Creek was our1st horse camp trip over 500 miles and well worth the trip. Dou is great host and his guided rides are wonderful. Doug took us on the Elk creek, Mikes Rock and misty meadow rides, Each ride has beautiful amazing views. We went out on our won each evening and saw many deer and several elk. There are no ticks! And we saw no snakes. Weather is great with low humidity. The federal land can be confusing as there are numerous dirt roads, log roads and trails – all unmarked. If you have ridden much you will be able to find key landmarks and ride out on your own. There are many dirt trails but enough rocks that you will want shoes or easy boots for your horse. We really love Hay Creek
Reviewed by ta on 7/24/2016 1:24:01 PM Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/12/2016 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo
Big South Fork - Saddle Valley Campground, near Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Saddle Valley is a small camp joining Big South Fork pubic trails. Lots of shade and easy to park your living quarter trailer. The owners helped make this a very good ride by loaning us their stock trailer were we able to trailer to other trail heads including Charit Creek Lodge and a short loop to Hippe cave. Camp is near a developed equine community as such there are many groomed trails by the home owners association. These are nice easy trails but for more challenge we rode several federal trails in Big South Fork. Teresa and Ed are extremely nice but do research if you want challenging rides. We had wonderful week with a great mix of rides. The horse ladder was a blast. Hippe cave was a site to see. We did a half day trip to Amish Community on Muddy Pond Road outside Jammestown - nice leather shop and tack shop along with a bakery. Some good deals in the tack shop
Reviewed by ta on 9/24/2017 8:34:03 AM Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2017 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo