HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Great Smoky Mountains National Park - Orchard Cove Stables
(click on name for more information)


Townsend, Tn

Overall TRAIL RATING with 45 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 46 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hands down the best in the Smokies no matter how you rate it!!
Reviewed by: lea valentine on 12/31/2015 7:19:53 PM
More reviews by lea valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/25/2015 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay......can't beat it for location, GREAT stables, friendly owners. Gotta love riding in the Smokies!! Thank you, Fredda, Ed, and Heather....you are the best!
Reviewed by: Brenda Goett on 10/11/2015 11:38:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/8/2015 Hometown: Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AWESOME campground! I wish all campgrounds had stables/stalls like this. Unbelievable. Water at EVERY STALL.. no more hauling water buckets. Stalls are solid-floored and rubber matted. Everything is as clean as if it were new. Top notch facility at a price comparable to all the others. The bathrooms are not the usual spidery, damp bathhouses but like-home bathrooms, with private shower, sink and toilet all the same little private rooms. Very nice. Has a HUGE covered arena free for use by campers. Horses are allowed at campsites to tack up. Cleaning stalls is a breeze because of the solid floor and rubber mats AND the fact that they provide a zillion muck buckets that all you have to do is fill up and they haul away somewhere far off and empty ones reappear. Only thing I didn't like was that there was no mounting block except in the arena, no tierails to put your horse to while your cleaning stalls and the sites only had RV type electric plug outlets whereas I needed just a plain ol' 110 plug to plug in my extension cord. Other than that, this place has it all and is TOP NOTCH! Absolutely gorgeous facility, landscaping and scenery around it.
Reviewed by: alogan22 on 9/15/2014 8:39:31 AM
More reviews by alogan22
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2014 Hometown: Clinton, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Oh, my!! Another epic weekend at Orchard Cove. Enjoyed the splendor of Gregory Bald in spite of showers. Orchard Cove was as wonderful as ever...cleanest and quietest and prettiest place for horsecamping in the Smokies. I love the Webbs like family and cannot explain what their lovely place and their hospitality means to me.
Reviewed by: Lea Valentine on 6/15/2014 4:28:45 PM
More reviews by Lea Valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2014 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove stables is fantastic! The campground is immaculate and very well laid out with many large trees for shade and beauty. The bath house is clean and inviting. The stalls are 12x12, concrete sides, and nice wood / steel bar fronts and backs. If your horses like to see each other, then request stalls that are front-to-back. This is our home base for all riding in the TN side of the Smokies. You can ride out of camp, and they also have stock trailers to rent so you can go to different trail heads. The trails in the GSNMP are very well maintained. They can be challenging, especially if you are afraid of heights. And your horse must be in excellent condition to make the climbs. But the rides are epic!
Reviewed by: John Bates on 5/22/2014 1:21:01 PM
More reviews by John Bates
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/15/2014 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove is the nicest and most well run of any facility near the Smokies. It is my personal retreat where I go for a weekend of good friends, incredible riding, and peaceful camping. I love nothing better than to introduce other friends to my good friends the Webbs and their beautiful slice of heaven in the Smoky Mtns at Orchard Cove!
Reviewed by: Lea Valentine on 12/24/2013 5:29:29 PM
More reviews by Lea Valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2013 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first time to Orchard Cove Stables, and it is a wonderful small campground run by very nice people. The barn is amazing with large stalls where horses cannot reach each other but can see each other. They provide muck buckets and picks, you just set them to the edge of the walkway when filled and they take care of it. No need to carry water buckets, all water hoses right there at the stall. We drive an F650 with a 40 ft trailer and had no trouble getting in and parking. We called ahead though to make sure no trailers were coming out as we headed in on school gap road as it is very narrow. The only thing they didn't have was ice, so bring your own or stop at the convenience store on the way in. Showers are immaculate. Trails can be narrow and on the ledges sometimes, but usually there are small trees and shrubs on the "down" side giving the illusion of a wall, at least on the trails we were on. We gave the trails 4 stars because they could be marked better, we use a GPS so we can always get back. Trails are long steady climbs or descents so recommend your horses be in shape. We did see a bear once 4800 ft up, and it ran away from us on up the mountain whew! Our horses see bear at home, so this wasn't new to them! Again, Heather and her parents are fabulous camp hosts, we'll be back for sure!
Reviewed by: shazz szekely on 7/21/2013 1:53:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2013 Hometown: jamestown, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough nice things about Mrs. Freda, Mr. Ed and Heather at Orchard Cove. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Their facility is top notch, clean and very safe for horses and your children. We will definately be making a return visit. As far as the riding went, WOWWWW !!!! We rode Anthony Creek, Spence Field, Russell Field loop one day and the (Tremont) Middle prong, Panther Creek loop another day and it was awesome. On our first ride, we left the stables with the temp being around 65 degrees and when we hit Spence Field we were riding in the snow. The trails were a little tricky at times due to the rain and some logs but our horses did an awesome job and we managed to make the entire loops both days. I would feel safe in saying that although these loops are great to ride, they would not be for every rider/horse due to the physical demand on the horses and some of the terrain that may make some riders feel uncomfortable.. I would definately suggest shoes and a few borium headed nails in each shoe. The nails really helped when crossing some of the large flat rocks by reducing slipping. Make sure you and your horses are up to a good hard ride lasting approximately 6-7 hours if you plan on making these loops. Again, we had a terrific time and we are already making plans to return and ride some of the other trails.
Reviewed by: Greg McFay on 4/8/2013 7:51:14 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2013 Hometown: Colquitt, Ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is my favorite place of all the places we camp at. Freda, Ed, and Heather make you feel at home. They have the best & cleanest barn I have ever seen and the campground is set up great for small or large rigs. The riding is 2nd to none !! If you are planning a trip to ride in the Smokey Mtns, Orchard Cove is the only place to go. You can ride out of camp, or rent one of three trailers they offer for a very small fee and hit other trailheads. Make sure you go to the Institute, this is the most beautiful trail I have ever ridden. If you ride out of camp, make sure you take Turkeypin trail. This is very beautiful and challenging, with narrow trails along the side of the mountain. Dont be alarmed, it's not as bad as it sounds. We have been to Orchard Cove 2 times and are talking about going back in 2013. Can't waite to get back to the Smoky's !
Reviewed by: Mike Rogers on 11/2/2012 7:32:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: London, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely the best campground we have visited. The facilities are incredible, and the hosts are wonderful and helpful folks. The trails in the GSMNP are fantastic. You will meet a lot of hikers. The hikers we met were very friendly and accommodating to move off the trail while we passed.
Reviewed by: John on 10/30/2012 5:22:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/21/2012 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had one of the most spectacular weekends ever at the height of the fall riding (leaf) season at Orchard Cove. I can't even tell you how many times I have camped there, but each time is a fantastic experience in a quiet and beautifully kept campground with wonderful the best owners ever! I just keep coming back. It's one of my special treats to spend time with the Webbs even though it is just an hour from home. You're lucky if you get the chance to enjoy Orchard Cove!!
Reviewed by: Lea on 10/25/2012 8:59:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/18/2012 Hometown: Knoxville/Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent campground. Freda, Ed and Heather are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful campground. They go over and above to make sure you are taken care of. Beautiful scenery.
Reviewed by: Andrea on 6/30/2012 4:14:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Custer, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove is absolutely the best campground we have ever visited both for horse and rider. The stalls are as wonderful as described in previous reviews, Freda, Eddie and Heather are fantastic hosts, and the bath house is more than adequate. The trails are some of the most beautiful we have ever been on. The ride up Tremont Institute along 4 miles of waterfalls is amazing. You can ride right out of camp or rent a trailer and go to other trailheads. The facilities are so nice and the owners so caring that you can feel comfortable leaving your mounts in their stalls and going a short drive into Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg for a day. Lots to do in the Townsend area also, antique stores, tubing on the river, and hiking to name a few. Grocery store, restuarants, gas stations, etc all close by. We have been there twice and are already talking about our next trip.
Reviewed by: Ann on 6/3/2012 8:39:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: London, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always Orchard Cove was wonderful. You will not find better facilities anywhere. The bath house is always clean. The trails are fantastic and the views are amazing. Freda, Heather and Ed are kind and caring people. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
Reviewed by: Debby on 4/25/2012 6:34:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2012 Hometown: Newport, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A most gorgeous setting! The camp is just right size, the owners are great! They are friendly and the campground area is clean and well maintained. Trails vary in easy to difficult, once up into the GSMNP the trail markings are not marked the best so a map of the GSMNP would be a wise purchase. At Orchard Cove They have trailers for use if you want to go out to other trail heads. When in the Park itself if you come to a road you have to dismount and walk your horse across the road, which is good because in October there is a LOT of traffic. But it is BEAUTIFUL!
Reviewed by: Lynn Schuster on 12/14/2011 4:12:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2011 Hometown: Carthage, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp, stables are the best that I have stayed, I have stayed from TN to SD,. Great host & fantastic riding in the Smokies.
Reviewed by: Tammy Hurst on 11/27/2011 11:26:47 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/25/2011 Hometown: Athens, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were there early Oct 2011 and loved it. The campground is fantastic. Clean and very well kept. The barn is the best we have ever put our horses in. Cleared thourghly after you take them out to go home. Bath house excelant. Very clean. Freda, Ed and Heather are great. Welling to help in any way they can. Can ride out from camp or rent a tralier to ride in the beautiful Smokey Mts. Were were there when the leaves were changing up high it was the most beautiful views I have ever seen. We have been many places but this ranks very high for us. Hope to return in early spring. Wanted to go back this year but they are full until Thanksgiving. We ride walkings horses and there is not a lot of places to rack but we will go back many times.Also there are good resturants to eat at in Townsend so you do not have to fight the traffic into Gatlinburg.
Reviewed by: Teresa McKinney on 10/26/2011 4:42:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2011 Hometown: Marion, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove had the CLEANEST facility I have ever camped in. The bath house is the cleanest ever! Freda & Heather are very friendly and accommodating host.I love taking advantage of the covered riding arena. The trails lead to such beauty for the eye to behold.. They let us use 2 of their stock trailer we hauled to Cades Cove for a day of the most beautiful riding I have seen this side of The Rocky Mt's. As stated in description, you will run into yellow jackets in July. I had a wonderful time , we plan on returning next year. God Bless you Freda & Heather.
Reviewed by: Jan Livingston on 7/18/2011 1:18:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2011 Hometown: Greenville , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove Stables and Smoky Mountains are trail riding heaven!
Reviewed by: John on 6/27/2011 6:18:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2011 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

very nice and accomadating host. super nice trails and scenery.traveled 700 plus miles to get there and was worth every mile and hour spent there. would recomend this campground highly. barn and bath are second to none others. thanks for a great stay
Reviewed by: barry charlet on 6/16/2011 3:51:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2011 Hometown: white castle, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enjoyed so much and didn't get to do all the riding we wanted, so have booked June 2011 to return. Best stalls I have ever seen. Absolutely beautiful country. Very helpful--my muffler on truck caught fire (transmission fluid overflowed) and the shop they suggested me to use was very good and charge was very reasonable. Only negative I could find was only one trail out of camp to the public riding trails, but small price to pay for the beauty.
Reviewed by: Nancy Mc on 3/17/2011 5:16:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Pleasant Hill, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to Orchard Cove for the first time in October. Stalls were immaculate, owners were very accomodating, Harvey the trail guide was interesting and capable, and the campground was clean with good water and electric service. Our total experience was great and we have absolutely no reservations about returning to Orchard Cove. We have ridden at numerous places all around the country and Orchard Cove is probably the cleanest place we have been. If you want to ride in the Smoky Mountains, we would recommend Orchard Cove.
Reviewed by: Dale on 2/11/2011 10:08:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Concordia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best place we have ever stay. The horses was at a luxury motel. The owners was just as good as you could ask for. Looking forward to going back soon.
Reviewed by: Deborah West on 2/10/2011 10:15:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2010 Hometown: Valhermoso Springs, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went to OC for a week in October. The campground was very nice, very clean and THE NICEST stalls I have ever seen. The owners, the Webb's were so friendly and accommodating to anything you could ask for. Unfortunately right before I left for the trip my horse got hurt rather seriously. I was so concerned about her while I was gone and I needed to have regular contact with back home with the vets and my husband about her. My cell phone didn't have service but they offered me the use of their phone. They also brought in their own personal laptop computer so that I could get and receive emails a couple of times a day regarding the status of my horse. That is the type of people the Webb's are! The trails were the best trails I have ever ridden on! We did hire Harvey to take us out riding most of the days we were there, and he was worth every penny and then some for his expertise of the trails and taking us to places that otherwise we never would have found. And he was so much fun to ride with as well - just a great guy. I would HIGHLY recommend Orchard Cove to anyone that wants a great camping and trail riding experience!
Reviewed by: Toni on 2/10/2011 7:08:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2010 Hometown: Cedar Rapids, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of the best Campgrounds I have been at and I have rode many many states. The stalls are the best I have put my horse in. The Campground is small and does not need a large bathroom. It has hot water and is clean. What else could you ask for? I know I will return and will be looking up Harvey Bowling to be the guide. I know I will have a great time on the trail and at Camp. I was there last October and had a good time.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/10/2011 4:32:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Hannibal, MO

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List