HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for KC RANCH HORSE CAMP
(click on name for more information)


DOUBLE SPRINGS, AL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 94 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 89 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Madison County Riding club loves this place to camp and trail ride. The owners will bend over to help you any way they can so you have a great stay. They have trails for all levels of riders.
Reviewed by: Madison County Riding Club on 1/3/2014 4:59:23 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2014 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the trails and campground was nice. Bathrooms were clean... Words on signs marking trails were hard to read, but we had no problem getting where we wanted to be. Ribbons marked most trails very well. Very reasonable rates which is awesome this day and time!
Reviewed by: grozell on 3/20/2013 8:30:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2013 Hometown: Taft, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Yes, we've been to Whity twice and it was terrible. Worst marked trails in the state as far as I'm concerned. Evedently you don't mind not knowing where you are on the trails. KC is far, a far better place. Trails were very pretty, folks were very nice, food was good. You should try this place again and you will toss rocks at whity's......
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/8/2012 9:08:57 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2012 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best in the STATE !!
Reviewed by: bud on 11/22/2012 12:03:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/22/2012 Hometown: hope hull, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Evidently you have not been to Whittamores in a while ,they have several new trails with bluffs and waterfalls.Really beautiful.We were also greeted with good host that treated u well,, came to our camp site and several times to make sure our stay was good. Last time we went to KC's the trails were grown up which included briars ans limbs in your face, ruts in the trails, definately not maintained like they were a few years ago. Used to love going there but not any more.
Reviewed by: Chris on 10/31/2012 8:11:49 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2012 Hometown: Birmingham, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place makes Whittemores look bad and they don't need any help with that lol. Had a wonderful time and the trails were fantastic. We will be going back.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/7/2012 5:03:56 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/6/2012 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice place and super nice folks. Will go again.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/6/2012 9:03:37 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2012 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had such a wonderful time at this place. Ken & Carol and their family were super nice. The trails were great, bath house nice and the food was wonderful. Could have used a little shade at our camp but had a great time. Barns for the horses were nice as well. I'm sure I will go back again.
Reviewed by: Terry on 5/28/2012 3:02:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: Oxford, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stalls need alot of work,some of the trails were really rough not well maintained.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/7/2012 2:49:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/31/2012 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Easy trails. People are super that run it. Great camp grounds, water and electric hookups. Bath house is awesome and super warm in winter. Food is good too.
Reviewed by: Michelle on 3/22/2012 11:44:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/10/2011 Hometown: Rainbow City, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE this place, my husband and i have camped here twice this year, first in july, it was hot as blue blazes but after we got down on the trails it was nice. Our most recent trip in October was fabulous. I think they have some of the most beautiful trails that I have ridden. If you have only ridden on flat pasture land, you might be in for a suprise but if you are used to most central/north alabama trails, you will be right at home. The camp was clean, Ken was great, came out and turned on the BAMA game for all of us in the mess hall! ROLL TIDE! met some really nice people, wish we could have stayed longer.... but we'll be back
Reviewed by: Shelly on 11/17/2011 12:02:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2011 Hometown: Hayden, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from another great trip at KC Ranch. Trails are challenging in places and easy in others...plenty of water crossings. I absolutely love the bluffs! Food was once again, fantastic. Ken, Carol, their daughter, and their grandchildren do a great job hosting when a meal package is offered. Looking forward to my next visit!
Reviewed by: Rhonda on 10/12/2011 9:54:51 AM
More reviews by Rhonda
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2011 Hometown: Mt. Zion, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely amazing! This is one of my favorite places to ride. Beautiful scenery with challenging and well marked trails. I definitely recommend KC's to any serious rider.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/7/2011 8:21:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2009 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went with 6 other families camping and trail riding at KC and it was some of the most gorgious riding I have ever done. It was quite warm outside but once we hit the trails it was so nice and cool down by the water. We made some great memories and the staff there are top notch! I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for beautiful scenary & a relaxing camping experience! We will be going back next year! :)
Reviewed by: Lindsay on 7/17/2011 1:20:52 PM
More reviews by Lindsay
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2011 Hometown: Lucedale, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Recent visit to KC riding was good all but a tree down across the orange trail unable to go around and had to back track. This was not good since we were almost back to the camp.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/8/2011 2:34:51 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/28/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great weekend at KC. Been a while since we visited and remembered why we come here. Great, great riding. Lots of water for the hot weekend, and shady trails. We have missed you Ken, and it won't be so long next time. Thank you so much for everything.
Reviewed by: Jamie on 5/24/2011 1:46:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2011 Hometown: Clanton, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Plenty of beautiful trails to ride. The campground was clean as was the bath house. The food was a good value for the price. It's nice to go and not to have to worry about cooking every once in a while. We enjoyed our visit and will be back again.
Reviewed by: Dee Chappelle on 2/5/2011 9:32:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/27/2010 Hometown: Oneonta, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Friendliest folks you will ever meet. Bargain rates
Reviewed by: Doug Hall on 9/21/2010 9:58:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2010 Hometown: Wetumpka, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family did a day ride and the trails are just beautiful!! I like having plenty of water crossing.... Can't wait to go again..
Reviewed by: Dee on 9/8/2010 9:08:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/28/2010 Hometown: Hartselle, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is our third time back and it is still as beautiful as ever. This time we went during one of the food weekends. Ken and Carol are very gracious hosts. The food is wonderful and the price can't be beat. The trails are great with a little of everything, flat, hills and streams. The campground and bathroom/showers are very clean. The stalls are plenty big enough even for my big 1200KB 16H Paint and shavings are included. The sites have water, electric and sewer. We met some really nice people that live about 20 minutes away and were staying the weekend. They were nice enough to let us tag along on a ride because we hadn't been able to find the blue trails. They showed us some great trails and we had lunch - which Carol packed for us - at the most beautiful spot. We had a great time. Thank you Ken and Carol - we hope to see you in October/November!
Reviewed by: Patti Hynds on 4/20/2010 1:14:30 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/17/2010 Hometown: Summerfield(Ocala), FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love KC Ranch! Great Trails, fantastic people, and wonderful food!
Reviewed by: Amy on 3/16/2010 6:27:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/24/2009 Hometown: Russellville, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love KC Ranch, we've been to alot of different trail riding camps in MS & TN and KC Ranch in Double Springs, AL has it ALL! Great new challenge trail, that is a challenge and great fun to ride. Ken & Carol are great people & great cooks. We have a yearly membership and will keep that up. Our favorite place to ride and only 1 hour away from home. We have met new friends & ran into some old trail riding friends. Loads of FUN!
Reviewed by: Paul & Christie on 11/1/2009 7:38:48 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/2/2009 Hometown: Hanceville, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

had a blast really great trails and streams. saw deer on the trail, three times in one trip out. will go back. camp spots are great also
Reviewed by: bob on 10/18/2009 5:53:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2009 Hometown: new market, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from my visit at the KC Ranch. As usual the experience was refreshing & leaves captured memories in my mind forever to look back on in future days. Even for people without a horse the trails are so breath taking you dont want to leave. In the past I have visited with major decisions or problems & after my stay at the ranch left with a clear mind to make better choices. The Ranch has such a friendly atmosphere from the owners to the people that go there. I love how the camp sites have plenty of room between them, the shower & eating area could not be any cleaner and the stalls are top of the line. There is so much to see that one could never be bored.The trails give horses an experience too from streams, to hills, to banks and open praries. Thanks KC for just what I needed......a little piece of heaven not too far from home.
Reviewed by: gulf-girls on 10/4/2009 7:52:40 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/4/2009 Hometown: Killen, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the camp is nice as any, the trails are great, but ken is a cheap jerk. we got there late on friday around 7:30pm. carol cam by shortly after we got there.we paid our money then i thought about we payed full price for a few hours of camping. i asked ken about it the next day, and all he could say or do is say iam sorry. ive camped a lot of places but i will never camp there again. kc ranch needs some help someone needs to be there full time. also i forgot to mention the yellow jackets we found on the orange trail, and the horents another family got into. they need help....
Reviewed by: geoff on 9/14/2009 5:48:26 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: arley, AL

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List